If you liked The Time Traveler's Wife, try Kindred.

Status: Bookseller Picks

Right before I started reading The Time Traveler's Wife, I read Octavia Butler's Kindred.  It was a strange transition to make since they both deal with involuntary time travel, but it was easy to appreciate both books.  In Kindred, Dana, a modern, African-American woman is pulled back in time to a plantation in the early 1800s.  There, she saves the life of Rufus, a young, white, slave-holding boy, whom she later discovers is one of her ancestors.  Dana is then pulled back in time again and again in order to help save Rufus's life, their relationship growing both closer and more contentious as time goes on.

 

Although I thoroughly enjoyed The Time Traveler's Wife, I felt that Butler did a better job than Niffenegger at examining the potential ramifications of time travel.  For example, would you save a person if you knew that he was going to end up raping a woman, but if you also knew that that act would lead to your own birth?  Butler manages to deal expertly with that issue and others, such as slavery.  This was one of the most thought-provoking novels I've ever read.

 

Octavia Butler was a terrific story-teller, and if you haven't read any of her books yet, this would be a good place to start.

Comments
by B&N Bookseller Brody on ‎08-19-2009 10:22 PM
Great review, this one is going to jump up my "to be read" pile for sure.
by B&N Bookseller kim-galleria on ‎08-23-2009 07:01 PM
She sounds alot like Diana Galbadon and her Outlander series.  I am looking forward to reading it

Since 1997, you’ve been coming to BarnesandNoble.com to discuss everything from Stephen King to writing to Harry Potter. You’ve made our site more than a place to discover your next book: you’ve made it a community. But like all things internet, BN.com is growing and changing. We've said goodbye to our community message boards—but that doesn’t mean we won’t still be a place for adventurous readers to connect and discover.

Now, you can explore the most exciting new titles (and remember the classics) at the Barnes & Noble Book Blog. Check out conversations with authors like Jeff VanderMeer and Gary Shteyngart at the B&N Review, and browse write-ups of the best in literary fiction. Come to our Facebook page to weigh in on what it means to be a book nerd. Browse digital deals on the NOOK blog, tweet about books with us,or self-publish your latest novella with NOOK Press. And for those of you looking for support for your NOOK, the NOOK Support Forums will still be here.

We will continue to provide you with books that make you turn pages well past midnight, discover new worlds, and reunite with old friends. And we hope that you’ll continue to tell us how you’re doing, what you’re reading, and what books mean to you.

Message Statuses
Top Kudoed Authors