Blogger
ande
0 Kudos

#5: Readers and author readings

By now it’s clear that you Book Explorers love books, love to read and love to talk about books and reading. But do you enjoy listening to authors read from their works?

As you might imagine given what I do for a living, I am often at author readings and other publishing events. This past Saturday night I went to a reading at a writer residency program at a local university because one of the Literary Ventures Fund’s authors –- Kris Holloway, author of Monique and the Mango Rains – was a featured reader. It was quite the global evening. First up was a Jamaican author who read a splendidly well-crafted short story. His lilting accent transported us out of the cold Northeast to the heat of the islands and, as it turned out, the ardor of a middle-aged man for a much-younger woman.

Then we shifted to Mali, where Kris Holloway’s Monique and the Mango Rains is set. If you’ve read earlier posts you know that Kris served in the Peace Corps from 1989-1991 in a tiny village in sub-Saharan Africa working alongside a young midwife named Monique Dembele. Her memoir of that became the aforementioned book and the book has taken off (see my #4 entry). Kris and her husband (he was in the Peace Corps, too, in Mali) returned to Mali last month for 10 days to visit with Monique’s family and to visit and deliver supplies to Clinique Monique, a maternal and child health facility built in Monique’s honor.

Anyway, I wanted to see Kris and hear about trip. What is so amazing is that I have read her book and have attended probably a dozen of her reading and I never tire of listening to her. And it’s pure magic watching her audiences respond –- leaning forward in their seats and she reels them in with her tales of a life they can only imagine through her words. She is a truly riveting presence. And you really must read this book. Kris is joining us, as you can see (#4 entry).