Contributor
Charity10
0 Kudos

Re: Introduce Yourself

Hello everyone.

I've just recently begun reading The Emperor's Children. I am just over 100 pages and believe it's a keeper. I figure if I have not lost interest already chances are that I won't. I work as an art psychotherapist and consequently often approach fictional reading from a psychological perspective. I have read many of your initial observations which are so eloquently expressed. I don't consider myself as versed as many of you seem to be in the stucture and technicalities of ficture. However, I thoroughly enjoy a good read and look foward to this dialogue.

I was drawn to the novel for 3 reasons; the writing style, frivalous subject matter, character study. It seems many, if not all the readers, agree that the writing style is exceptional if not at least adequate. Personally, I cannot read a book if I don't like the writing style. In contrast to many of the readers, I was actually looking for a book that would offer a guilty pleasure kind of escape but also satisfy my frequent need for intellectual stimulation. At this time, for me, the book is a good fit. I am impressed by readers' high expectations of this book. Perhaps my lack of knowledge concerning the writer may have prevented me from having such high expectations? No offense I hope to Ms. Messud.