Rachel-K
0 Kudos

Welcome from your moderator

Welcome to the Barnes and Noble online discussion of Claire Messud’s The Emperor’s Children, an extraordinary new “comedy of manners” set among the “glittering chatterati” of contemporary New York, and including the events of September 11th. I’m looking forward to hearing from you! Are you familiar with Messud’s fiction or new to her work? Do any of her portrayals hit close to home for you?

I’m Rachel, your moderator for the month. I’m a mom and a librarian, and have recently relocated to the South.
Contributor
bobzyeruncle
0 Kudos

Re: Welcome from your moderator

[ Edited ]
Hi Rachel,

Thanks for moderating.

Can we please remind people (or maybe tell me that I'm misinformed) about posting spoilers, or at least labeling them as such?

It's my understanding that we read this book over the course of the month. Perhpas I'm wrong and we're supposed to have read it before we discuss??

Granted, some people will get done earlier than others ... and some have already finished, which is fantastic, but to post plot points in very early discussions (eg, first impressions, introductions of participants, and questions to the author) will certainly detract from other readers' enjoyment of the book.

For example, I now know that two characters will be married and that's something I'd have never thought would be given away in a question to the author before the club has really officially started.

Sorry for the whinge, I just think some ground rules ought to be established.

Message Edited by bobzyeruncle on 09-30-2007 01:43 PM
:: :: ::

Bob
www.bobzyeruncle.com
Contributor
Walrus
0 Kudos