Reader
nicolemosco
0 Kudos

Re: Welcomes and Introductions

Hello everyone,

My name is Nicole (I think I'm at least the second Nicole so far!). I live outside of Pittsburgh, PA, and I am an English professor. This will be my second "First Look" book club. (The first was The Sister.) I look forward to the new book and the subsequent discussions!
Contributor
LillyAndLola
0 Kudos

Just been skimming through the postings . . . I did decide not to read any of O'Nan's other books before I start on Songs for the Missing.  So I have plunged into Water for Elephants.  Generally, I read a lot of British detective fiction, British historical fiction, memoirs, and classics.  This program is taking me in a whole new direction, and my "new" reading list has now extended off the edge of the page!  I read The Sister, then picked up the Monsters of Templeton.  I enjoyed both so much that I started to explore other titles from book club reading lists.  I read Tallgrass by Sandra Dallas, and really didn't want it to end.  I plan to read more of her work, but right now I'm going to concentrate on catching up with different authors and then later go back and read their bodies of work.  I also read the Nature of Monsters by Claire Cook but I didn't like that at all . . . even though technically it is Bristish historical fiction!  I hear the Great Stink is much better.   I'm really enjoying Water for Elephants, and next on my list is Peony in Love.  (I read Snowflower and the Secret Fan last year and then gave it to lots of people for Christmas.)  I also want to re-read Barbara Kingsolver's Prodigal Summer sometime within the next few months.  Whew!  I better get off the computer and back to the stacks!  Can't wait to start discussing Songs for the Missing with all of you!
Contributor
monsoonnana
0 Kudos

Hi,
I'm Lana from West Chester, PA and I am looking forward to Songs for the Missing! . This is my second First Look and I am glad that I found this site at B & N.
Lana
Monsoonnana