Reply
New User
lorizitz
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
0 Kudos

Looking for more books like these...

I just finished reading a handful of books that I really enjoyed and was looking for similar reads.  Here are the books I recently read:
 
Good Little Wives – Abby Drake
Garden Spells – Sara Addison Allen (loved this one!)
The Mermaid Chair – Sue Monk Kidd
Water for Elephants – Sara Gruen
Does anyone know any other authors that I might enjoy?
 
Thanks!
 
Lori
Moderator
dhaupt
Posts: 11,829
Registered: ‎10-19-2006
0 Kudos

Re: Looking for more books like these...

Try Karen White, Kristin Hannah, Nicolas Sparks to name a few
Inspired Contributor
MadamedeChevreuse
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎01-07-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Looking for more books like these...

I don't know if this book is like the ones that you mentioned, but I would recommend Hunting and Gathering by Anna Gavalda. I read it last week and loved it!
A book is like a mirror: If an idiot peers into it, you can't expect an apostle to look out.
Wordsmith
kiakar
Posts: 3,435
Registered: ‎10-19-2006
0 Kudos

Re: Looking for more books like these...

I don't know if you have ever considered Jodi Picoult's novels. But they are filled with "today issues" And Jodi writes a wonderful warm story that is easy to get into. All of them are wonderful reads. My favorite is "Plain Truth,Tenth Circle and 19 minutes but all of them are good.
Inspired Contributor
Linda10
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎10-02-2007
0 Kudos

Re: Looking for more books like these...

Hi, Lori!
 
It sounds like you're getting some good help!
 
I would also suggest Mary Lawson.  She's only written two books to date; but I loved both of them.  Her first book is "Crow Lake."  Her latest book is "The Other Side of the Bridge."  I would read her first book first because I think her second book was even better.  (You know, save the best for last!)  Of course, you can do what you want.  Enjoy!
 
 
New User
TinSoldiers
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎04-09-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Looking for more books like these...

Great list you have so far, I have always wanted to read Good Little Wives, how did you like it?
Correspondent
momgee
Posts: 584
Registered: ‎07-24-2007
0 Kudos

Re: Looking for more books like these...

Barbara Delinsky,(Lake News) Maeve Binchy (Light a Penny Candle),Sharon Owens (The Tea House on Mulberry St) anything by Elizabeth Adler or Dorothea B. Frank.
 
Happy reading,
Kaye
"Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read."
Groucho Marx
Inspired Scribe
IBIS
Posts: 1,735
Registered: ‎11-22-2006
0 Kudos

Re: Looking for more books like these...



lorizitz wrote:
I just finished reading a handful of books that I really enjoyed and was looking for similar reads. 

If you enjoyed reading Sue Monk Kidd, I would recommend Anita Shreve...
The Pilot's Wife
The Weight of Water...
 
Also Sue Miller
The World Below
The Good Mother.
 
IBIS
IBIS

"I am a part of everything that I have read."