Since 1997, you’ve been coming to BarnesandNoble.com to discuss everything from Stephen King to writing to Harry Potter. You’ve made our site more than a place to discover your next book: you’ve made it a community. But like all things internet, BN.com is growing and changing. We've said goodbye to our community message boards—but that doesn’t mean we won’t still be a place for adventurous readers to connect and discover.

Now, you can explore the most exciting new titles (and remember the classics) at the Barnes & Noble Book Blog. Check out conversations with authors like Jeff VanderMeer and Gary Shteyngart at the B&N Review, and browse write-ups of the best in literary fiction. Come to our Facebook page to weigh in on what it means to be a book nerd. Browse digital deals on the NOOK blog, tweet about books with us,or self-publish your latest novella with NOOK Press. And for those of you looking for support for your NOOK, the NOOK Support Forums will still be here.

We will continue to provide you with books that make you turn pages well past midnight, discover new worlds, and reunite with old friends. And we hope that you’ll continue to tell us how you’re doing, what you’re reading, and what books mean to you.

Reply
New User
lorizitz
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
0 Kudos

Looking for more books like these...

I just finished reading a handful of books that I really enjoyed and was looking for similar reads.  Here are the books I recently read:
 
Good Little Wives – Abby Drake
Garden Spells – Sara Addison Allen (loved this one!)
The Mermaid Chair – Sue Monk Kidd
Water for Elephants – Sara Gruen
Does anyone know any other authors that I might enjoy?
 
Thanks!
 
Lori
Moderator
dhaupt
Posts: 11,865
Registered: ‎10-19-2006
0 Kudos

Re: Looking for more books like these...

Try Karen White, Kristin Hannah, Nicolas Sparks to name a few
Inspired Contributor
MadamedeChevreuse
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎01-07-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Looking for more books like these...

I don't know if this book is like the ones that you mentioned, but I would recommend Hunting and Gathering by Anna Gavalda. I read it last week and loved it!
A book is like a mirror: If an idiot peers into it, you can't expect an apostle to look out.
Wordsmith
kiakar
Posts: 3,435
Registered: ‎10-19-2006
0 Kudos

Re: Looking for more books like these...

I don't know if you have ever considered Jodi Picoult's novels. But they are filled with "today issues" And Jodi writes a wonderful warm story that is easy to get into. All of them are wonderful reads. My favorite is "Plain Truth,Tenth Circle and 19 minutes but all of them are good.
Inspired Contributor
Linda10
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎10-02-2007
0 Kudos

Re: Looking for more books like these...

Hi, Lori!
 
It sounds like you're getting some good help!
 
I would also suggest Mary Lawson.  She's only written two books to date; but I loved both of them.  Her first book is "Crow Lake."  Her latest book is "The Other Side of the Bridge."  I would read her first book first because I think her second book was even better.  (You know, save the best for last!)  Of course, you can do what you want.  Enjoy!
 
 
New User
TinSoldiers
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎04-09-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Looking for more books like these...

Great list you have so far, I have always wanted to read Good Little Wives, how did you like it?
Correspondent
momgee
Posts: 584
Registered: ‎07-24-2007
0 Kudos

Re: Looking for more books like these...

Barbara Delinsky,(Lake News) Maeve Binchy (Light a Penny Candle),Sharon Owens (The Tea House on Mulberry St) anything by Elizabeth Adler or Dorothea B. Frank.
 
Happy reading,
Kaye
"Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read."
Groucho Marx
Inspired Scribe
IBIS
Posts: 1,735
Registered: ‎11-22-2006
0 Kudos

Re: Looking for more books like these...



lorizitz wrote:
I just finished reading a handful of books that I really enjoyed and was looking for similar reads. 

If you enjoyed reading Sue Monk Kidd, I would recommend Anita Shreve...
The Pilot's Wife
The Weight of Water...
 
Also Sue Miller
The World Below
The Good Mother.
 
IBIS
IBIS

"I am a part of everything that I have read."