Wordsmith
kpatton
0 Kudos

Re: Eternal on the Water: Chapters 1-8

Joshua,
I appreciate your thoughts on these questions.  I'm not quite finished with the book but I like how you bring out the smaller questions under the events (did Cobb kill her or did she commit suicide?).  That is the part of this author's style that has appealed to me.  I'm not big on love stories (as I previously wrote) but I do like the author's writing style and the way he let's you form several scenerios as to how things might be and then continues to take you into his story.  I also like your views about what Cobb might be looking for in a companion.  Thanks for your thoughts
Kathy

al305j wrote:

Hi, my name is Joshua.  This is my first time participating in the book clubs on Barnes and Noble.  I'm glad to meet everyone and I'm enthusiastic about reading your replies. 

Knowing the ending: What effect does it have on your reading to open the novel with Mary's death presented to us first, and Cobb beginning to tell a ranger about her? Did this capture your attention or repel you, or both?

Like the movie Seven Pounds, I am given the ending at the beginning of the story. During the opening of the book, I‘m thinking, “What the hell happened to Mary?” Yes, for a moment my assumption resembles Something Henry: did Cobb kill her? I grabbed my reading tools to dig deeper and deeper . . . and deeper. So in this book, knowing the ending is the hook, dragging the reader throughout the novel to know more about this Cobb character, Cobb’s relationship with Mary, and how Mary died. Will a treat reward the reader at the end with something spectacular or will a trick await the reader at the end with a murderer, a killer of the reader’s time?