Author
Shandi-Mitchell

A Note to the First Look Group

Dear Readers,

I'm having trouble getting past the opening salutation: Dear Readers. Readers. Reading my galley.  You are the first readers, apart from my family, peers and a few people in the publishing world, to see my novel.

It is a real honor to be invited to participate in the First Look Book club. I've read many of the Barnes and Noble posts of previous club members and am struck by the careful consideration and insights of all involved. This is a knowledgeable, avid, passionate group of readers. Admittedly, I am nervous as well. For the last three years, the story has existed solely for me and now I am about to share it.

I am also aware that from this point on, I will never know the whereabouts of my story. The act of reading is such a private undertaking. I am also a filmmaker and have been in theatres for my screenings and watched the faces of the audience-held my breath to hear the laughter or the tears, hoped for applause, covertly listened to the comments as the theatre emptied. But now with the novel, I won't see your faces.

Will the characters reach across the page to you? Where will their story travel? What city, town, house, apartment? Will the galley be beside the bed on a nightstand, on the floor by the tub, perched on a side table, or accompanying you on the bus? Will the dishes pile up; sleep be neglected; will you push through a few more pages even though the bath water has gone cold? I won't know what time of day or night the pages are turned.  Or at which chapter the bookmark is placed or a page corner folded down. Will you ponder the characters as you brush your teeth? Or inundate your partner with details of your day's reading? Will the story follow you into your dreams? This is the unknown of creating.