Contributor
nook_newbieLS
0 Kudos

Re: Vixen Discussion: Part II thru p. 355

Clara tells Gloria, "I'm no more expert on the subject than any other girl. But this much I know: Love is worth everything. If you really love someone, you'll have no regrets. Even if it turns out badly." Do you agree? How might this impact the characters in this story? How do you feel about our star-crossed lovers chances of success? 

Gloria and Jerome have a lot of things working against them - not only the bi-racial relationship in 1920's America, but the fact that they will have no choice but to rely on the mob for employment. That rarely turns out well.

We also learn that Lorraine did not reveal Gloria's secret to Bastian, even as she does expose Clara's reasons for New York. Did either of these revelations surprise you? Did they change the way you feel about any of the characters?

It was actually consistent with Lorraine's behavior. She has been desparate to keep Gloria's affection, so it makes sense that she sabatoged Clara (who she has deemed a threat) and protected Gloria.

dhaupt
0 Kudos

Sarah-W wrote:

I'm still trying to figure out how Lorraine did all the work to discover that there had been a baby? Who do you suppose knew? Who did she ask? 

AnnieBook wrote:

I'm still on the fence about Lorraine.  She's trying so hard to be a good friend to Gloria but you definitely see her evil streak when it comes to Clara.  Her revelation of Clara's past w/ Haris really blew me away!  I did not see that coming!  I'm curious if Clara ever told Haris she had his child?  Or did she hope to hide it and escape NY for a fresh start?

I remember reading on page 353 where a drunk Lorraine is announcing to the crowd at the party that she contacted some people from Barnard in New York and she specifically mentioned a friend Shelly who told her all about Harris Brown and his playboy ways. So I'm assuming that Clara made quite a name or shame for herself in NY.

Correspondent
Atreyu59
0 Kudos