New User
JettyCat
0 Kudos

Re: Introduce Yourself

Hello All

I decided to check my BNU account to see if there were any online classes being offered on getting published.

Can you say synchronicity?

I just finished my first children's book and of course I think it's the next great American novel:-)

Seriously, I have read it to friends and relatives (they have to like it) and all the responses were positive.

I've read that publishers like to use their own illustrators, however, I think if I self-publish with the illustrations, I can then send the finished book to publishing houses to see if they would like to pick it up.

Possible or dreaming - that's what I'm here to find out.

Hope from FL
New User
JerseyGirl282
0 Kudos

Hi, my name is Courtenay! I am currently living in FL, but am originally from NJ. Enjoying the constant heat (to a degree... ha!) I really love to write poetry and always wondered how I could get my creations published. I am new to the book club, and would like to get direction from people who know more about publishing than myself.
Courtenay
Frequent Contributor
skipster56
0 Kudos

Hello again everyone. Just a little note to all of you that want to write a novel.
ALWAYS DO AN OUTLINE OF THE STORY.

Most people find themselves in a novel, about half way through, then get a block. To avoid that block, get a notebook and do an outline of the book.

Example: My new novel

A. Timeline
B. Characters
1. Name, age, (describe look) Main character
a. Describe the entire path the main character is taking, all the way
to the end of the book.
2. Next character's name and story
3. List any character's in order of importance. (You don't want to use the name
Jack, later on in the story, if you first named him John.
Then begin your Chapters.
Chapter 1. Beginning- They are young, in school, rebel against parents. (ex)
Chapter 2. Where do you want to be in the following chapters
" 3 and so on.