New User
Broos
0 Kudos

Re: Historical Fiction Writer

Like Tajunska, I write historical fiction (the Matty Graves series of sea adventures, if anyone's interested). I think I'm old enough now that my memoirs would be considered historical fiction, too.

I sympathize with CrAZRick, but I think he's got it backwards when he wonders if he's "not cut-out to be a writer, so [he] can die a lonely, depressed and broken soul." That's how you end up if you DO become a writer.

Arrrr.
New User
Wordlings
0 Kudos

Re: Introduce Yourself

[ Edited ]
I'm Jeff Swanson, and I am a writer of fragments.

I've been writing since 1977. For me, notebooking, which I took up relatively late in life (34) and only after a lot of angst and false starts, became my metier.

This can be somewhat annoying because most conventional writers see notebookings, freewrites and free associational word games as simply a stage in a fixed, inexorable progression directly from chaos and juvenalia through to "settling down" and publication. Devoted as I am to originality, I took the road less traveled by, and that has made all the difference. I can still see the others from here, though, and I'll admit I sometimes wish I was over there with them. But I'm happy with the years I've put in, with the millions of words I've written and the astonishing pieces I've created (some of whom reside on my website Wordlings.com). I won a Writer's Digest screenwriting contest a couple of years ago, so clearly all that writing's paid off!

I'm here just to see what's going on. I'd like to be published officially but for the time being it's just self-publishing. Being your own editor is extremely challenging, but has several upsides, one of which is you can add new stuff on the fly, and follow sudden inspiration even in the middle of your redpenning. To link the red pen and the white heat -- well, that's the goal of any writer, innit? :-7

Message Edited by Wordlings on 07-11-2007 01:31 PM
New User
Coastalpirate1
0 Kudos