Frequent Contributor
Timbuktu1
0 Kudos

Re: Clementine (his wife): Engagement Photo

bentley wrote:

Oldesq wrote:
Gilbert writes that they first met 10 years earlier with WSC being so stumbling shy as to not take a chance to speak to Clementine and missing the opportunity.

Message Edited by Oldesq on 07-14-2008 01:12 PM

I haven't read Gilbert's biography; but at the Churchill Museum; there was a display regarding their courtship and that story which I do not believe was Churchill folklore was cited. I don't think he spoke two words and walked away I think or something totally embarrassing; I guess he was smitten from the get go.

I think that is sweet in a way.

VERY!
Inspired Contributor
Choisya
0 Kudos

Re: MY EARLY LIFE~~HG Wells

If you examine the speeches of many great orators you will find that a lot of the lines are plaguarised from other works of literature.  I used to be a speech writer for politicians and I did a lot of plaguarising!:smileyvery-happy:   And every day we plaguarise lines from Shakespeare and Chaucer without knowing it.  An interesting book on the sources of our language is Mother Tongue by Bill Bryson.

Inspired Contributor
Choisya
0 Kudos

Re: William Bourke Cockran

The leter to Jack is a good example of Churchill's upper-class snobbery:smileysad:.

bentley wrote:
This is a letter that Winston wrote to his brother Jack; a splendid letter which describes his impression of American (lol), judges and juries, firehouses, American journalists, etc.

A delight to read since this was written when he was on his way to his first big war adventure in Cuba. This url is terrific and was part of the Library of Congress exhibit on Winston. It appears that he stayed at first with Cockran.

http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/churchill/interactive/_html/wc0019.html

Inspired Contributor
Choisya
0 Kudos

Re: Snobbery