Author
LaurenWillig
0 Kudos

A note from Lauren Willig

[ Edited ]
Gentle Reader,

The seeds for The Deception of the Emerald Ring were planted five years ago, in the miserable cold of a Cambridge winter. At the time, I was an overeager third year grad student, teaching a class on the Second British Empire (1783-1945), desperately trying to stay one step ahead of my students, all of whom seemed to know more about Ireland and India than I did. As I burned the midnight oil, reading up on rebellions and revolutions, murders and mutinies, I came upon one of Ireland's lesser-known risings: the tale of Robert Emmett and the Irish Rising of 1803. I knew, then and there, that it had to form the backbone of my third book.

The Irish Rebellion had it all: hidden identities, smoky taverns, dark alleyways, secret negotiations with the French, smuggled explosives. Admittedly, at that point, I still hadn't even finished my first book and I had no idea when-- if ever-- I was going to make it all the way to a third, but the Irish Rebellion was just too perfect to pass by. Fate appeared to agree. When a good friend got married that spring, the post-party to the rehearsal dinner was held at a bar called Robert Emmett's.

"Do you know who that is?" I babbled, clutching a friend's arm and waving wildly at the picture of Emmett, dapper in white cravat and black frock coat, creaking in the May breeze. "Do you know what this means! It's a sign!"

"Yeah," he mumbled, maneuvering me into the bar, "that you need another drink."

Despite the naysayings of inebriated groomsmen, Emmett's omen proved true.