Since 1997, you’ve been coming to BarnesandNoble.com to discuss everything from Stephen King to writing to Harry Potter. You’ve made our site more than a place to discover your next book: you’ve made it a community. But like all things internet, BN.com is growing and changing. We've said goodbye to our community message boards—but that doesn’t mean we won’t still be a place for adventurous readers to connect and discover.

Now, you can explore the most exciting new titles (and remember the classics) at the Barnes & Noble Book Blog. Check out conversations with authors like Jeff VanderMeer and Gary Shteyngart at the B&N Review, and browse write-ups of the best in literary fiction. Come to our Facebook page to weigh in on what it means to be a book nerd. Browse digital deals on the NOOK blog, tweet about books with us,or self-publish your latest novella with NOOK Press. And for those of you looking for support for your NOOK, the NOOK Support Forums will still be here.

We will continue to provide you with books that make you turn pages well past midnight, discover new worlds, and reunite with old friends. And we hope that you’ll continue to tell us how you’re doing, what you’re reading, and what books mean to you.

Reply
Inspired Correspondent
Adeline79
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎03-17-2009
0 Kudos

Any books like Girl with a Pearl Earring?

Hi there everyone,

 

Does anyone know of any other books that tell an imagined history of a real piece of art? I know that Tracey Chevalier  has one book like this of a painting and another one about a tapestry. I really enjoyed these books and wonder if there are any others like that by different authors.

http://thereadingjourney.blogspot.com
Distinguished Bibliophile
Ryan_G
Posts: 3,295
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Any books like Girl with a Pearl Earring?

You might want to ask this question in either the Community Room or the General Fiction  Room.  You might get a better response in either place.
"I am half sick of shadows" The Lady of Shalott

http://wordsmithonia.blogspot.com
New User
storrance
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-19-2006
0 Kudos

Re: Any books like Girl with a Pearl Earring?

Hi -- I enjoyed GIRL IN HYACINTH BLUE ... can't remember the author, but recently loved LUNCHEON OF THE BOATING PARTY... by Susan Vreeland.     Good Reading.
Inspired Correspondent
Adeline79
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎03-17-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Any books like Girl with a Pearl Earring?

Thanks for the suggestions. I will give them a try.
http://thereadingjourney.blogspot.com
Distinguished Bibliophile
Peppermill
Posts: 6,768
Registered: ‎04-04-2007
0 Kudos

Re: Any books like Girl with a Pearl Earring?

 


storrance wrote:
Hi -- I enjoyed GIRL IN HYACINTH BLUE ... can't remember the author, but recently loved LUNCHEON OF THE BOATING PARTY... by Susan Vreeland.     Good Reading.

 

 

Susan Vreeland did both of those.

 

If you enjoyed those, you would probably also enjoy:

 

Lydia Casset Reading the Morning Paper by Harriet Scott Chessman

 

"Seize the moments of happiness, love and be loved! That is the only reality in the world, all else is folly. It is the one thing we are interested in here." -- Leo Tolstoy