Blogger
IlanaSimons
0 Kudos

A Message from Your Moderator

[ Edited ]
Hi—I’m happy to welcome you to the Frankenstein book group, in which we’ll read Mary Shelley’s classic together.

This resonant story, which Shelley wrote at age 18, has been recast by culture in so many ways, and I’m eager to hear what you make of it.

I’m a writer and literature professor who teaches at The New School in New York. I know we're coming together from a range of backgrounds, so please feel free to introduce yourselves below, maybe saying if and how you’ve read the book.

I love Frankenstein because it’s a true “book of ideas,” a story that taps inexhaustible questions, like gender, ego, and work. Shelley’s writing is often raw in its energy, showing her investment in these ideas. The book challenges us as great literature does, by making us sit with tough facts, like the failure of some of our best intentions.

I am excited to hear what ideas the book challenges and encourages in you. Come on in and start talking!

Message Edited by IlanaSimons on 10-26-200610:20 AM

Ilana
Check out my book, here and visit my website, here.

Frequent Contributor
Sensorymoments
0 Kudos

Re: A Message from Your Moderator

Hi there, My name is Owen, and I am 24 (a girl) and I'm in college for spanish and english as a second language. May I just say I am crazy about books. I haven't read many of the classics though. I thought this would be a good oppurtunity to read a classic, in a non-school setting and really enjoy delving into it. I downloaded it on ebook and am reading it as I can on my computer (this is a great way to get into classics if you travel alot with a computer etc)

So far I have only read the Letters, and am really intrigued by them. I only know from movies, etc, very little about the actual story, and to me these letter's act as what I consider to be a foreshadowing, ....but I'm not really sure yet.