becke_davis
0 Kudos

Guest Blog by Alec Nevala-Lee

Today's guest blog is by author ALEC NEVALA -LEE! Check out his Facebook page here:

https://www.facebook.com/nevalaleebooks

His blog is here: http://nevalalee.wordpress.com/

Alec Nevala-Lee - Oak Park, IL

becke_davis
0 Kudos

Re: Guest Blog by Alec Nevala-Lee

About Alec

I’m a novelist, freelance writer, and author of The Icon Thief, the first in a trilogy of international thrillers published by Penguin. A second installment, City of Exiles, will appear in December, with a concluding novel,Eternal Empire, to follow in the summer of 2013. I’m also an occasional author of short fiction for the magazine Analog Science Fiction and Fact, including my novelette “The Boneless One,” which was recently selected for inclusion in The Year’s Best Science Fiction, 29th Edition, edited by Gardner Dozois. My essays and nonfiction have been featured in such publications as the Los Angeles TimesSalonThe Rumpus, and The Daily Beast.

Growing up in Castro Valley, California, I was an avid reader and moviegoer, and wrote my first novel—of which, thankfully, only one copy survives—at the age of thirteen. My earliest influences included the works of Arthur Conan Doyle, Umberto Eco, Jorge Luis Borges, Douglas R. Hofstadter, Norman Mailer, John Fowles, Robert Graves, Madeline L’Engle, Zilpha Keatley Snyder, and Stephen King; the films of Stanley Kubrick and David Lynch; the Indiana Jones trilogy; and such TV shows as Twin Peaks and, above all, The X-Files.