becke_davis
0 Kudos

Guest Blog by Author JEAN HARRINGTON!

Today our guest blogger is JEAN HARRINGTON, whose new book DESIGNED FOR DEATH was released last week by Carina Press.

Jean Picture

You can find Jean here:

Twitter:  http://twitter.com/jeanharrington1

Facebook:  http://facebook.com/JeanHarringtonNaples

Web site:  www.jeanharrington.com

becke_davis
0 Kudos

Re: Guest Blog by Author JEAN HARRINGTON!

[ Edited ]

About Jean

Writing has me hooked though the realization was a long time coming. As a child I wanted to be a foreign correspondent when I grew up. I must have been a romantic even then, but reality set in and instead I went to the exotic University of Rhode Island for a degree in English literature and stayed on as a teaching assistant while I earned my master’s degree.

In the meantime, I had married John (he loves it when I give my heroes his name), and we have two grown children, Mary Lee and Chris, and three granddaughters, Amy, Laura and Carolyn.

Following URI and a stint writing PR and advertising copy, I taught writing and lit for sixteen years at Becker College in Worcester, Massachusetts. I enjoyed this period of my life tremendously, but when I think back, I realize that always simmering on the back burner of my brain was the old adage, “Those who can do; those who can’t teach.”

Not necessarily true, but after I raised my children, left Becker and moved to Florida with Big John, the gig was up. I began to write, and write, and write, and, well, you get the picture . . . .

My debut novel tells the tale of the captivating, defiant Grace O’Malley, THE BAREFOOT QUEEN, who risks everything she loves for a vow she holds dearer than life itself.

To meet Grace O’Malley, please press Book Excerpts.

Jean Harrington

Jean at the 2009 Naples Author and Book Festival.

Jean at the 2009 Naples Author and Book Festival.

becke_davis
0 Kudos

Designed for Death Meets Crafty Ladies

Jean_Harrington | January 3rd, 2012