becke_davis
0 Kudos

NINA BRUHNS, Day 15, Month of Romantic Suspense

Please welcome NINA BRUHNS as our guest this President's Day! Nina was briefly featured last year as a Tuesday visiting author, but several readers asked that I include her so I was happy to comply. 

becke_davis
0 Kudos

Re: NINA BRUHNS, Day 15, Month of Romantic Suspense

[ Edited ]

Here's a link to Nina's website: http://www.ninabruhns.com/

Nina Bruhns

A woman with a varied and checkered past...

I guess that’s how I’d describe myself (though it makes my husband crazy :smileyvery-happy:)

By profession, I’m really an archaeologist (an Egyptologist) but I’ve worked all kinds of jobs, from real estate to a fabric store clerk to a student counselor at the Fulbright Commission in Stockholm, Sweden. My favorite was a work-study job in grad school (go U of C!), reorganizing the ancient Egyptian pottery at the University of Chicago’s famous Oriental Institute. The pay was lousy, but holding ceramic jars actually touched by Ramses II and King Tut was awe-inspiring and unbelievably exciting.

I’ve lived all over the USA, and even spent six years in Europe. I love to travel. Maybe because my great-grandfather was an Hungarian gypsy–my only ancestor who was not Danish. A few years back, my family and I moved to Charleston, South Carolina, which has also been a wonderful adventure. It’s amazing here, and I’ve finally found “home.”

I love archaeology, but doing fieldwork in The Sudan, Africa (my area of specialty within Egyptology) isn’t too practical with children and a husband who has a normal job. So when I thought about what I’d like to do instead, I set out to fulfill my lifelong dream of being a writer. Now I have my adventures through my characters. I can give my heroines the thrills and excitement all women dream of having, but I never have to change out of my jammies to do it. My kind of job!