becke_davis
0 Kudos

Please Welcome Author JENN MCKINLAY!

[ Edited ]

This week's featured guest is New York Times Best Selling Author JENN MCKINLAY! She's had an exciting week, with DUE OR DIE reaching #20 on the New York Times Best Seller list AND #15 on Publisher's Weekly's Best Seller list!

DUE or DIE hit #20 on the New York Times Bestseller's list for March 25, 2012!

becke_davis
0 Kudos

Re: Please Welcome Author JENN MCKINLAY!

About Jenn

Jenn - where it all began

When did I decide to become a writer? Funny story. True story. I was a teenager and went to see the movie Romancing the Stone. I don't know that I decided to be a writer so much as I decided to be Kathleen Turner. Yes, that would be quite a stretch for me, but living in an apartment in New York City, writing romance novels for a living seemed like a good gig and so the dream began. I did nothing with it for YEARS. 

I went to Southern Conn State Univ, where I studied English Literature and Library Science and worked at a bar called Toad's Place. I then took a full time job working as a librarian in Cromwell, CT. Still, I wrote nothing. Full time work was not conducive to writing time. I knew I needed to live in a place where I could afford to live, working part-time.

So, I packed up all of my crap and my cat and moved 3,000 miles across the country to Arizona and then I started writing -- romances. Hmmm. They were pretty bad, but I learned a lot along the way about POV, character development and plotting, etc. I took a wide variety of part-time jobs, convinced that it was all temporary because one day I would be a published writer. 

While I was pursuing this dream with some pretty impressive (also called psychopathic) single-mindedness, I had my heart broken a few times and I broke a few along the way. I found my soul mate (in a library - for real) and married him. I had a gorgeous baby boy.