becke_davis
0 Kudos

Please Welcome Featured Author ELIZABETH HAYNES!

This week our featured guest author is ELIZABETH HAYNES, who is new to the Mystery Forum.

Her website is here: http://www.elizabeth-haynes.com/

She's on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/elizabethjhaynes?fref=ts

And she's on Twitter here: https://twitter.com/Elizjhaynes

Picture of me

Photo by Ryan and Jo Photography

becke_davis
0 Kudos

Re: Please Welcome Featured Author ELIZABETH HAYNES!

About Elizabeth Haynes

My name is Elizabeth Haynes and I’m a writer living in Kent, in the South East of England.

I’ve been writing stories as long as I’ve been able to write. I remember my stories being passed around the playground at school, who knows – somebody reading this may remember that too. You may have chosen to forget. I bought a second-hand electric typewriter when I was about thirteen, possibly from a jumble sale, more likely from the Friday-Ad. It was supposed to be portable but I could barely lift it. I spent many a happy rainy weekend hammering out masterpieces on it, not having any clear purpose in mind, it was just something I had to do.

In October 2006 a friend introduced me to National Novel Writing Month ( www.nanowrimo.org ), the site I’d been waiting for all my life. It’s an annual challenge to write 50,000 words in the month of November. There is no grand prize other than the right to call yourself a novelist at the end of it; no reason to do it other than for the sense of achievement you get afterwards. The novel doesn’t have to be good, it just has to be written. And who knows, at the end of it you might have something worth editing. The whole point is just to get over writer’s block, to get over the self-doubt – to carry on even thought it feels like what’s being written is rubbish.