Scribe
03FLHT2
0 Kudos

Re: Where is B&N Management??

no if B&N has a store in your state you will have to pay all taxes as at the store itself

Inspired Bibliophile
LarryOnLI
0 Kudos

03FLHT2 wrote:

no if B&N has a store in your state you will have to pay all taxes as at the store itself

Actually it is not going to be that simple.

B&N will no longer be the seller of the book, just an agent.

It's the publisher of the book that is the seller.

Frequent Contributor
QuiteTheCharacter
0 Kudos

I'm not an expert here, but I think the standard law about sales tax is goes something like this.. If you buy something online, and if the place that you purchased it from has a physical presence in your state, then you have to pay sales tax on it..

I think the caveat so far with BN is that "bn.com" is I believe a separate company from the bricks and mortar BN stores.. So technically, when you buy from "bn.com" you don't have to pay sales tax, even if there's a BN bricks-and-mortar down the road..

So in the Agency model, the actual merchant is apparently no longer "bn.com" but the publisher themselves (with "bn.com" as the agent).. So I think the same rules would apply.. You pay tax if the publisher has a physical presence in your state.

Again, I could be off here, but I think that's the way it works.

Frequent Contributor
Alley415
0 Kudos

LarryOnLI wrote:

Actually it is not going to be that simple.

B&N will no longer be the seller of the book, just an agent.

It's the publisher of the book that is the seller.

This is true in some regards but won't affect the collection of sales tax.  The burden of assessing and collecting tax is on the end seller which will be B&N.  As long as the product is sold through it's store and it has the legal requirement to collect sales tax for that state, it will be charged.

Doug_Pardee
Kudos: 4,015
0 Kudos

Alley415 wrote: