Correspondent
joyfull
0 Kudos

B & N e-reader doesn't work on my Mac

I'm a member of the First Look Book Club. This month, for the first time, we are reading an ebook. I do not own a separate ereader but I understood the B & N e-reader would work on my Mac laptop.

I've downloaded it twice. Nothing. Double clicked numerous times. Nothing. I've downloaded the book. Nothing. The B & N ereader shows up in my applications so I know it's on my laptop. I don't understand why it won't work. I'm sure I must be doing something wrong.

Please help me and, if you don't mind, give me the answer in English. I do not speak advanced Computer language. I'm not technically advanced but I have downloaded other applications. I've also managed to write a blog for 18 months. This ereader has me baffled.

Help??

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
Margot
My blog: JoyfullyRetired.com
Correspondent
growlingraven
0 Kudos

Re: B & N e-reader doesn't work on my Mac

Hi,

Does your laptop meet the requirements of the software?  I have it running on my Macbook and just downloaded and installed it on my iMac. Works fine on both.

Here's the software requirements:

System Requirements: Mac OS X 10.5 or later

• Requires at least 4 MB of free memory
  • PowerPC Macs not supported at this time
New User
ArchEcho
0 Kudos

I actually seem to be having the same problem. My MacBook meets the requirements, but after download, the install step seems to be skipped, maybe? The dmg file is saved to my desktop, but when I double-click on the installer, it only has the reader application itself in it. I double-click on the app, it bounces once in my dock and disappears ...

I hate bugging support lines with what are usually simple problems that can answered in forums, so I thought I'd poke around here first.

Distinguished Correspondent
very-simple
0 Kudos

Are you trying to open the app from inside the "disk" that loads when you open the .dmg folder, or did you drag it to your applications folder first?  

Contributor
Blitsky