Contributor
J_Diamond

Productivity Apps

As a Graduate Student I can't tell myself enough maybe I should have just saved for an iPad.  I mean, its frustrating the amount of free apps out there that run on the Android system that Nook Color lack.  Drop box for one would be a great app to have as it syncs all your devices and goes right along with the fact that the Nook Color allows you to download PDF files.  I know that this is an e-reader and the purpose I got it for was to read books which is why I can't be bothered with rooting so please, spare me... I shouldn't have to change my device to get its full potential.  I wanted something separate to read books on, a tool specifically for my studies and now that they offer apps I just wish they would offer some that fit in with the theme of the product instead of tic tac toe and angry birds! Give us more productivity apps because you have a lot of people who use this item for reading for classes and work, so make this product work for us.  Sorry but I'm not going to buy a product at the cost of the nook color so children can play Dr. Seuss games... Lets be practical! 

Contributor
bookgirlJJ

Re: Productivity Apps

I could not possibly agree with you more! As a college professor and bibliophile, the main reason I purchased the Nook Color is that it was marketed as a "reader's tablet", and I was told by B&N staff that the apps being developed would "enhance the reading experience". I assumed (my mistake) they meant the ADULT reading experience, but it seems they meant the reading experience of CHILDREN. Also, I find it annoying that they call enhanced books "apps", which they are not, and that there is no way to export annotations and highlights to a single document.
Reader 4
dmmay

Amen from another professor.

Distinguished Wordsmith
MaluhiaKana

[ Edited ]

To the OP,