Distinguished Bibliophile
roustabout

Re: Productivity Apps

Bookgirl writes:  "When I posted that I was a college professor, I wasn't trying to claim any type of authority or superiority, nor was I trying to suggest any particular socio-economic status. Rather, I was underscoring my own professional *needs* (i.e. needing tools for extensive annotations, highlights, and bookmarks that can be exported)"

Indeed you used a general introduction and then immediately gave specific examples of what elements of the toolset were lacking for your use in your work.  You didn't say 'college professor' as a proxy for explaining the tools you need, because you write well and know how to construct arguments and an explanations using old-fashioned rhetorical sleight of hand like specifics and evidence. :smileyhappy:

Given that we're all guessing at why the OP included the job title in the post, that tends to suggest the poster probably isn't in your specialty. The utility that seemed absent until Deemure pointed out it was there all along is of as much use to a working stiff as it would be to a student. 

What kind of graduate study someone's doing might have a big impact on what they might want  from an NC as a work tool - as indeed what professional or academic specialization someone has will have an impact.

Someone who reads and writes for a living is going to find that it's a nice device to have to avoid carrying stacks of books around, but that they probably also need a paper notepad on one side, since the annotaions functions are so very weak on-board. Probably shortly after that, they're likely to start thinking "hm, lightweight notebook with the Nook and Kindle software installed might be pretty excellent too."  Neither BN nor Amazon are targeting people who read for a living;  both the Kindle and the Nook are designed for casual reading - as are somewhere between all and most e-reading applications.