Reply
Frequent Contributor
sueott
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎10-19-2006
0 Kudos

No wi-fi

I can't get my house wi-fi on the Wireless Networks list, so I can't get on the Web. The little triangle next to the battery logo is blank. The wi-fi message at the top just says "scanning." Our iPad and desktop are getting signals. Rebooting the modem didn't work. Why is my own wi-fi network missing?

Bibliophile
bklvr896
Posts: 4,818
Registered: ‎12-31-2009
0 Kudos

Re: No wi-fi

Do you have SSID broadcast in you're wifi turned on?  If noy, you will need to turn it on for the device to find it the first time.  Also, check if you have MAC address filtering on.  If you do, you'll need to enter the MAC address of the Nook to the list before it will connect.

Correspondent
Wulfraed
Posts: 1,030
Registered: ‎11-24-2012

Re: No wi-fi

The nook connects on 2.4GHz g and b WiFi (though why anyone would run 11Mbps b mode???). It does not see 5GHz n or a mode. It may see 2.4GHz n mode, but n does not like to share with g/b.

Baron Wulfraed
Frequent Contributor
sueott
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎10-19-2006
0 Kudos

Re: No wi-fi

That's exactly what the tech said on the phone, and it worked.

Correspondent
Wulfraed
Posts: 1,030
Registered: ‎11-24-2012
0 Kudos

Re: No wi-fi

Ambiguous... You had two responses pointing out different router features -- so which was the solution?
Baron Wulfraed
Distinguished Bibliophile
bobstro
Posts: 4,073
Registered: ‎01-01-2012
0 Kudos

Re: No wi-fi

Wulfraed wrote:

The nook connects on 2.4GHz g and b WiFi (though why anyone would run 11Mbps b mode???).

 

b can be useful if you need range more than you need speed.