Distinguished Bibliophile
deemure

Sideloaded content, covers, and more

[ Edited ]

I've had some trial and error experience here and until this gets fixed in some way, here are some things to try.

Keep in mind this is only for non-drmed content or even content you have converted from PDFs or created yourself.

Helpful programs:

Calibre-you can use this to convert files into epub format.  It converts pdfs, pdbs, and many others that are not drmed.

Sigil-this is great for cleaning up epubs.

Sigil is a WYSIWYG epub editor.  There is another program out there call epubhub that will import and convert xhtml files to ebpub, but I have not had occasion to use that much and it is a relatively new program. 

My suggestion is if you download a lot of open epubs from many different sources and they look crummy or chapters aren't showing up well, that you start by running it through Calibre.  Add it to your Calibre library and even though it is already in epub form, convert it to epub.  Calibre will add the cover image to an image file.  In order to fix chapters-one book I had simply listed every chapter as "Chapter" with no numbering-take the book into Sigil and make sure that the chapter names and numbers are in one unbroken sentence.  Sometimes they are formatted to have the chapter number below the name separated by a hard return or break.  You don't want that.  Move them up into one sentence by deleting this return/break.