Contributor
jofallon763
0 Kudos

Connected but no Internet

I've had a simple touch which has worked fine with my apple AirPort Extreme router for a year and a half. In the last few days, suddenly it can't connect to the Internet to sync. It worked fine a couple of weeks ago. I powered off and restarted it; forgot and recreated the connections, to no avail. It's got firmware version 1.2.1. My kindle keyboard, nexus 7, and various iPhones are all working fine with the wifi, at a mix of speeds. I can transfer books in with a cable, but I have a magazine subscription that requires wifi. Is something in my nook dead? Do I need a new one? Thanks for any advice!
Distinguished Correspondent
RJR443
0 Kudos

Re: Connected but no Internet

Jofallon, I don't know what's going on, but I'm experiencing the same problem.  There are three Nooks inb my family, and suddenly all three are having this problem. They will connect to the wifi and say that they're connected to the internet, but nothing will load.  I was able to download a bookon Friday the 27th, but when I tried again last week, it refused to work.  I checked the other Nooks and got the same result.

Everything else that's dependent on the wifi is working perfectly well.

Contributor
jofallon763
0 Kudos

I called the 800 nook support number last week, and described the trouble-shooting I'd done (rebooting the device, forgetting the network connection and recreating it). They told me my nook was defective, and since I'm outside the warranty, offered me a reconditioned nook for $40. Now I see they're having a sale on the glow touch (which gets pretty bad reviews from users on bn.com), or $10 off any nook. I wonder if they're over-stocked or coming out with new models in the fall. I'm on my second touch in 18 months anyway. I'm not terribly eager to buy another. But I buy a lot of ebooks from BN.
Frequent Contributor
Calenorn