Reply
Frequent Contributor
LucaToo
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-28-2012
0 Kudos

Damaged SD card

Nook HD+ won't read SD card - comes up with "SD card damaged. You may have to reformat it".

 

Cancel or Format - and then nothing happens..!

 

The HD+ has written off a CM10 card so badly that PC won't read it.

 

But the HD+ won't read a card that the PC will happily format.

 

Any ideas..?

Bibliophile
5ivedom
Posts: 3,544
Registered: ‎12-03-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Damaged SD card

Try to use a SanDisk 4X speed card.

 

Ideal is to format it using PC or Nook BEFORE using.

 

*****

What OS do you have?

 

If you have Windows, then you can get lots of SD Card formatting software.

Frequent Contributor
LucaToo
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-28-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Damaged SD card

"What OS do you have?

 

If you have Windows, then you can get lots of SD Card formatting software."

 

--------------------------------------------------------

 

But the HD+ won't read a card that the PC will happily format.

 

???

Bibliophile
5ivedom
Posts: 3,544
Registered: ‎12-03-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Damaged SD card

Use a different formatting software. Also what format are you formatting it in (FAT, NFS, etc.). Just search the forums. I think there is a specific format that's recommended.

Correspondent
Wulfraed
Posts: 1,030
Registered: ‎11-24-2012

Re: Damaged SD card

The HD/+ should work with FAT32 but its preferred (native) format is exFAT. WinXP requires a MS patch to be downloaded to support exFAT.

 

Baron Wulfraed
Wordsmith
AlbionRose
Posts: 368
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Damaged SD card

Hi Lucatoo,

Am I right in thinking that this SD card has the N2A image on it?

My SD card has the image on, and the Nook HD+ used to regularly tell me that the card needed to be reformatted.

I just ignored the message, and rebooted and often the Nook would then read the card ok.  It hasn't given that message so much recently (since the 2.06 update).

One way around it would to have one SD card with the N2A image and your files on, and another with just your files on & swap them depending on which OS you want to use.

But maybe it's already behaving itself again!

:smileyhappy: