Reader 4
jmooth
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Nook HD+ shows "device isn't compatible" for many Play apps

Hello,

When I try and install various Play apps, I see a message "Your device isn't compatible with this version" on the app screen in Play.  Examples are American Express, NHL GameCenter, and Wells Fargo Mobile.

Any ideas why so many apps are showing this?  Is this typical for Android devices (I'm new to Android)?

Thanks,

Jerry

Distinguished Scribe
Schwa
0 Kudos

Re: Nook HD+ shows "device isn't compatible" for many Play apps

I would assume that these apps are phone-only apps.  Not all apps are available for both types of devices (tablet vs. phone). 

The only other reason I can see for incompatablity is Android version.  Most new apps require 4.0 or above and Nook is indeed 4.0

Distinguished Bibliophile
roustabout

A lot of apps have a list of screen resolutions supported, and the HD+ is larger than that.

Some require a GPS radio or a camera to work. 

I suspect some app developers may have a white list of supported devices as well.

"no warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized." Fourth Amendment to the US Constitution.
Frequent Contributor
The_Walrus_43
0 Kudos

Getting same not compatible message on many of apps i have tried to download to my hd+ 2.1. Weird  thing is i have an N2A card for my hd+ and these same apps are compatible via n2a.

Frequent Contributor
P38Lightning
0 Kudos