Contributor
happycampers2
0 Kudos

Nook Kids Read To Me e-Books

I am trying to create children's books for the Nook Kids Read To Me format.  How do I do that with PubIt?  Is it even possible?  Is there another software that I need? 

Contributor
happycampers2
0 Kudos

Re: Nook Kids Read To Me e-Books

Are these boards monitored by Barnes  & Noble support staff anymore?

Frequent Contributor
CodyFord

I'm not sure if this board is moderated by B&N or not.  Doesn't look like it.

I'm working on a children's book as well. As far as I can tell, the only way to get the double page layout, landscape or Read to me features is to use the SDK. (Software Development Kit).

I'm a programmer, but I don't want to re-invent the wheel for my book using the SDK. Hopefully something will be offered through the PubIt platform to assist in the above.

Until then it appears portrait with limited illustration formatting is the only thing available right now. If I am wrong PLEASE let me know what capabilities are available outside of the SDK.

Contributor
happycampers2
0 Kudos

I could very well be wrong, but I cannot imagine that BN is providing the SDK as the only tool for creating the Nook Kids (Read to Me) books for Nickelodeon and the other children's publishers that they have partnered with.  It seems like they would have some sort of standard for everything to make them work the same. 

Right now, I'd first like to figure out a way for books to autorotate into landscape mode and allow for turning pages properly.  When I do a book in landscape mode, they just turn the nook sideways but then still have to turn the pages as if the book is in portrait mode.  It's very silly if you ask me.