New User
Fabulosity
0 Kudos

book covers

HI...IM A LITTLE NEW TO THIS...IM WORKING ON MY FIRST BOOK FOR PUBIT....AND IM WONDERING IF ANYONE KNOWS WHERE CAN....OR HOW CAN I DO THE BOOK COVER PART....LIKE HOW DO I MAKE ONE?

Contributor
MichelleBono

Re: book covers

If you do a search on Google for "eBook Cover Design" there are quite a few places that offer this service. I've seen prices anywhere from $100 to $600 for an eBook cover...more if it's for print. If you have PhotoShop or InDesign, it's pretty easy to create a cover...if you have an eye for design. Really nice images can be found for at istock.com. These images are royalty free and can be purchased for around $10 to $20 each, depending on resolution. You'll want to check the usage agreement to verify, but I'm fairly certain you can use these images for up to 100,000 imprints. After that, there are extended use charges.

If you'd like some assistance creating a cover, I'd be happy to help. I'm an author and a professional graphic designer. You can email me via my website at www.MichelleBono.com. There's also an image of my book cover there as well.

Hope this helps,

Michelle

Author--The Last Duchess of Havenhurst

Contributor
EugoPub
0 Kudos

Michelle,

I'm not a graphic artist, but I know a way of getting free use of pictures that you can enhance with any program like Photoshop Elements. www.creativecommons.org will search Yahoo's Flickr for pictures that are avaiable for commercial use with or without alteration. Then all you have to do is have a yahoo account and contact the owner of the picture. I have 10 short stories and three novels and have only been turned down once. All they want is to be given credit in your book. Check my photostream under EugoPub to see the covers. Flickr has also generated sales, so there is some value in marketing there for all writers. I'm a member of a writing organization that helps other writers for free. I'd be glad to help you through the process.

Doug_Pardee