New User
robertkjr3d
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Chinese Fonts on nook

I have not made a purchase as of yet.

I was interested to know:  Whether the Nook Tablet would have any trouble copy and pasting - chinese-fonts from the web to a Word Doc - Will I be able to see the SimSun font or other Chinese fonts at all in Word docs? I am from the Windows world.  I am used to using Windows Mobile devices, and have not bridged over into the world of Android or IPhone.  I am a software developer. I understand chinese fonts in EPUBs might be an issue.  That you may have to hack the device.  That isn't a big deal to me.  I'm not sure how many EPUBs i'll be using with chinese fonts I'll be using anyway.  But I will be using PDFs that have Chinese in them, that I will want to copy some characters out of.  Also Pinyin (which is like latin)  What I don't want to happen is to copy a document from the Windows box to my Nook, and it come up all ???????? because it can't read it.  and I'm thinking why did i buy this? 

Distinguished Scribe
NookGardener

Re: Chinese Fonts on nook

Don't know how far you have gotten with your research on this.  My suggestions would be:

1) Check out the Nook Tablet General Discussion area and look for posts from Tom51 from early to mid-December 2012.  He figured out how to sideload the necessary Chinese characters needed for e-pubs (but this was prior to the sideload door being closed.) 

2) Contact the support desk at eZpdf regarding whether or not his app will support the characters you need to copy and paste. (Read somewhere that he is very responsive, and he has definitely made some nice improvements to his app since it was originally released.)

Only other comment would be, IMO, while copying and pasting from a pdf to a word doc is possible (latin characters anyway), it's a bit cumbersome. It's ok on a one-off basis for occasional use, but it you're going to be doing a lot of it, you might find a keyboard and mouse more efficient.