Reply
Wordsmith
Serendip
Posts: 618
Registered: ‎02-11-2011
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES AND COMMENTS

Is there an option anywhere to leave mail on the server? (I haven't set up email yet, in case this isn't an option.)

 

Thank you!!

 

 

Inspired Scribe
Doreenpv
Posts: 1,872
Registered: ‎11-15-2010
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES

Thanks Awesome
Contributor
irishais
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎02-18-2010
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES

First time I entered my Yahoo mail, I got a connection error message on full WiFi strength. I also got a popup listing that some Yahoo accounts don't work. Decided it didn't matter, and entered my gmail, since Yahoo gets forwarded there anyway. Got the same connection error.

 

Wasn't too deeply concerned, as they're both browser-based, so I moved on to a different app, put down my NC, fiddled around on the boards, and lo and behold, there's a notif on my NC when I go back to it saying I have new email.

 

It took roughly five to ten minutes for my email and NC to sync up with each other, all told, but now it works fine. (I mentioned this in another post, but I figured I'd repost here in case anyone else was wondering about it taking  a while to load either gmail or yahoo in the app.)

 

Also, I have no idea what a POP3/whatever else you all were talking about is-- could someone enlighten me in the event I run into this question at work?

Frequent Contributor
Awesome_in_MO
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎05-17-2010

Re: EMAIL ISSUES AND COMMENTS

Yes, there is an option to leave email on the server when you do the account setup.

Contributor
WildKnitter
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-16-2011
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES

Has anyone set this up successfully yet for Cox?  If so, what did you do?  Want to circumvent any issues before I try this...

Inspired Wordsmith
sandie52
Posts: 666
Registered: ‎01-14-2011
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES


my9cats wrote:

Tried Tech support on the board.

No reply. Guess they're all over here.


If you don't know the settings for your specific ISP go to their website and there should be a faq's on the settings.

Reader
TM859
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-25-2011
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES

[ Edited ]

I set up my email accounts with no problem.  Initially, all 4 accounts downloaded mail from the server with no problem.  But when I went to "Combined Inbox", it got hung up on "Loading messages".  Now, when I choose the mailboxes individually, sometimes they work and other times, they hang on the "Loading messages" screen.  Anyone else having this issue?

 

UPDATE:  In playing around with this, I discovered that if there are new emails to be downloaded, it loads them without a problem, both in the individual inboxes and in the Combined Inbox.  The hang-up appears to happen only when there are no new emails (and I'm checking the accounts before the next scheduled check by the NC).  I also noticed that on the individual inboxes for each email, if I use the sync button at the bottom of the screen, it usually stops the "Loading messages" screen, on those occasions when it doesn't stop on its own.  This doesn't seem to help on the "Combined Inbox", though.

Reader 4
weaver1960
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-25-2011
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES

My gmail is set up, but everytime I open a message, I get thrown back into the apps main menu. I tried changing the settings, but get thrown back into the main menu there too. Anyone lese have this problem?

Wordsmith
Serendip
Posts: 618
Registered: ‎02-11-2011
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES AND COMMENTS

 


Awesome_in_MO wrote:

Yes, there is an option to leave email on the server when you do the account setup.


Thank you!! :smileyhappy:

 

Inspired Contributor
j_collins
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎12-23-2010
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES

Thank you l_nester--I finally got it to work.

Frequent Contributor
Puppy_Dad
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎12-24-2009
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES

 
Inspired Wordsmith
my9cats
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎04-11-2010
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES

Email app worked fine until I tried to change it to a 5 minute notification.

Now I get a connection error or a 'user name or password incorrect'

 

Nowhere are there any instructions as to where and how to change the password.

 

The first go round I ended up having my main gmail account on my PC disabled. TMALSS I finally got it back and had to change my password. This I was able to do on the PC, cell, and NC when I accessed gmail from the website.

 

From the app is a whole 'nother story.

 

Please help.

 

Nook Color Wallpapers
Contributor
Leah_H
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-29-2010
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES

Both Aol and hotmail work.
Inspired Wordsmith
my9cats
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎04-11-2010
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES

Am on hold with tech support. Hopefully they can help.

Nook Color Wallpapers
Inspired Wordsmith
my9cats
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎04-11-2010
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES

Spoke with tech support.

Had to delete email and reinstall.

At least now I can access email.

 

As far as the notification issue, it still doesn't work.

 

The tech suggested I uninstall and reinstall the update but would lose

everything. With all my stuff in addition to BN books to redo I decided in the scheme of things

the notification is a non-issue and will just hit refresh.

 

What was really important was to regain my email access.

 

Gads, what a night

Nook Color Wallpapers
Reader
aspenbound
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-27-2011
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES AND COMMENTS

Unable to get email to set up.  Keep getting and error message  "setup could not finish, unable to open connection to server". Got any suggestions? I'm with Frontier... Thx

Frequent Contributor
Puppy_Dad
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎12-24-2009
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES AND COMMENTS

I have upgraded to Version 1.2 software on my Nook Color without
problems.

My primary Email account is a free Yahoo mail account. I have tired the
automatic configuration but keep getting a password, username,
authentication error. I tried the Manual method and with IMAP selected
and can't open a Server connection.

I need to know what information I need to enter into the following Nook
manual fields

Imap server

Security type

Port

Imap path prefix


I have connected with to my Gmail account with the automatic
configuration on the Nook Color

Thanks for your help

Chuck Kettle

New User
DMo24
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2011
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES

Thank you!  You solved my problem with ATT email. 

New User
golfdog54
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-07-2011
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES

If you are using ATT with a @bellsouth.net email address:

 

  • Incoming Server - pop.att.yahoo.com
  • Outgoing Server - smtp.att.yahoo.com
  • Incoming Port - 995 (requires SSL)
  • Outgoing Port - 465 (requires SSL)
  • Username: full email address ( -----------------@bellsouth.net
  • Password: is the password you login to you bellsouth account

 

This worked for me; hope it does for you

 

 

 

Contributor
furious10
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-25-2009
0 Kudos

Re: EMAIL ISSUES

I was having trouble setting up mine, Used the advice to put mail. in front of server name....that worked but using smtp. in front of server name for outgoing mail did not. so I put mail. in front of outgoing and VIOLA.....works fine. Go to your email web site and (in my case) search for android (iphone) type settings.