Reader 4
mrobinson1201

Why??

I am an educated technical person.  I have had my nook first edition since the day they were available.  I have been purchasing books for my nook since then.  Tonight I wanted to buy my new reader a couple of books.  I went to the kids books section on B&N.  She picked out 2 books.  Now I looked very carefully to make sure they weren't for nook color.  There was nothing on the page that said anything about Nook color.  But...  they are only for nook color.  Of course I didn't know that until after I paid for them.   I called B&N and they told me that there is a tiny little question mark that you can click on to find that out.  so on the far right of the page I see: " Available on NOOK devices and apps"  then to the right of that was the question mark.  Why would I question that statement?  Why would this information be hidden?  yes I am getting a refund, but I don't understand why this is not stated clearly.  I am a software developer.  the code to put the ? with the message box - is more work than "Not compatible for Nook first Edition"

1.png

Inspired Scribe
kamas716
0 Kudos

Re: Why??

They probably don't want to take up the space on the page to list every device it's compatible with. Lots of companies are like that.
http://www.goodreads.com/kamas716
GDJ
Inspired Contributor
GDJ
0 Kudos

[ Edited ]

Every book I have purchased has been compatible with my device, a NC. I would never even have known to check nor would I have if I had seen that note. Glad you got a refund.

Bibliophile
5ivedom
0 Kudos

My understanding was that not this page but the confirmation dialog lists exactly which Nooks are supported. Do you see this information on the confirmation dialog or not?

In any case, the product page should list this clearly.

Distinguished Bibliophile
Mercury_Glitch
0 Kudos

This is one of the reasons I suggest always buying from the device itself, you'll only see the books that will work on your Nook.