Fans of Dan Brown and Preston & Child will love Jeffrey Small's award-winning debut novel, with its unique blend of suspense, spirituality, and ancient history. Graduate student Grant Matthews journeys to the Himalayas in search of an ancient mystery hidden in a remote monastery, but at every step of his quest he confronts a conspiracy of zealots who will go to any lengths to protect the secret: a secret that could change Grant's life, if he survives.

 

Joining Grant on his quest is photojournalist Kristin Misaki and together they must confront an assassin at the Taj Mahal, a kidnapping in a sacred city, and a desperate chase through a cliffside monastery—all in the pursuit of a legend that could link together the great religious faiths of the world.

 

If you enjoy fast-paced thrillers that explore ancient cultures, you won’t want to miss The Breath of God, or Small’s newest book, The Jericho Deception—available now for preorder.

 


 

 

 

In my experience, kids just can’t resist the adorable cartoon adventurer Dora the Explorer. I can’t blame them—she’s cute as a button and an enviable problem solver. With  today’s irresistible free app, early readers learn important lessons about letter recognition and phonics, through a series of engaging activities. You’ll love watching your pint-sized reader tracing letters in the sky, as Dora’s friend Tico draws pictures and letters with his plane. Each activity reinforces different skills, keeping even the most energetic toddler engaged. 

 

To keep them engaged even after they’ve mastered these new skills, explore the full range of Nickelodeon apps on NOOK here.

 


 

 Free Fridays Recommends

 

Each week, we ask our featured author to recommend a book or author that you may want to check out. Since authors are such passionate readers themselves, we thought you might like to find out what they love to read, too! Here’s what Jeffrey recommends:

 

Comments
by butterflly13 ‎04-19-2013 07:35 AM - edited ‎04-19-2013 07:37 AM

Mysteries

 

Cutthroat by: Daniel Knight
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/cutthroat-daniel-knight/1113747495?ean=2940045067904

 

Death at Whistling Swan  by: John D. Nesbitt
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/death-at-the-whistling-swan-john-d-nesbitt/1113039929?ean=2940044904...

 

Extreme Malice by: R. E. Swirsky
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/extreme-malice-r-e-swirsky/1108786377?ean=2940033195794

 

Murder on the mind by: L. L. Bartlett
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/murder-on-the-mind-l-bartlett/1101007127?ean=2940033286799

 

 

Westerns

 

The Mighty Peculiar Incident at Muddy Creek by: Ian Thomas
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/mighty-peculiar-incident-at-muddy-creek-ian-thomas-healy/1102680432?...

 

Regret by: Edwards Nickus
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/regret-edward-nickus/1104562086?ean=2940011414510

 

Guest Ranch by: Don Hoglund
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/guest-ranch-don-hoglund/1104808064?ean=2940011453953

 

 

 
Womens Fiction

 

Haunted destiny by: Ellie James
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/haunted-destiny-midnight-dragonfly-bonus-short-story-ellie-james/110...

 

Good Enough by: Brenda McCreight
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/good-enough-brenda-mccreight/1113022766?ean=2940011147371

 

All the Blue-Eyed angels book 1 by: Jen Blood
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/all-the-blue-eyed-angels-book-1-of-the-erin-solomon-mysteries-jen-bl...

 

Deaths Hand by: S. M. Rine
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/deaths-hand-sm-reine/1106753875?ean=2940032820963

 

Candel in the Darkness by: Lynn Austin
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/candle-in-the-darkness-lynn-austin/1100375592?ean=9781441202871

 

Daughte of the Loom by: Tracie Peterson
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/daughter-of-the-loom-tracie-peterson/1103369700?ean=9781441203199

 

For Anyone to See by: Leigh Grayson
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/for-anyone-to-see-leigh-grayson/1113576136?ean=2940044984363

 

hangers, shoeboxes, & Love by: Zizi Sadie
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/hangers-shoeboxes-and-love-zizi-sadie/1112134970?ean=2940044694002

 

Raked Over by: Linda Seals
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/raked-over-linda-seals/1114998902?ean=2940044408500

 

Something to Talk about by: C. J. Hawk
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/something-to-talk-about-cj-hawk/1111320510?ean=2940044189966

 

Sins of the Father by: L. S. Sygnet
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/sins-of-the-father-ls-sygnet/1115077996?ean=2940044423398

 

 


Romance

 

A Seals Seduction by: Tawny Weber
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-seals-seduction-tawny-weber/1112757141?ean=9781459245716

 

BAIT by: Annie Nicholas
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/bait-annie-nicholas/1100245217?ean=2940011209499

 

The Queens Gaurd by: Traci E. Hall
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-queens-guard-traci-e-hall/1111639026?ean=9781605424019

 

In The Drak by: P. G. Forte
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/in-the-dark-pg-forte/1102724070?ean=9781605046952

 

The italians Inexperiences Mistress by: Lynne Graham
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/italians-inexperienced-mistress-lynne-graham/1100323985?ean=97814592...

 

Uncovering the Correttis by: Carol Marinlli
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/italians-inexperienced-mistress-lynne-graham/1100323985?ean=97814592...

by eReaderPerks on ‎04-19-2013 07:35 AM

Happy Friday!

Here are some of the latest top-rated Nook freebies. (All of these are 4+ rated):

Fantasy 5.0 Stars/1 Review (4.2 star/29 Reviews on Amazon): http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/hunters-blood-special-edition-marianne-morea/1114142078?ean=29400450...

Horror Unrated on BN (4.6 Stars/102 Reviews on Amazon): http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/fat-vampire-johnny-b-truant/1114999408?ean=2940044415652

Mystery Unrated on BN (4.6 Stars/10 Reviews on Goodreads): http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/dillon-and-the-legend-of-the-golden-bell-derrick-ferguson/1100076011...

Religious Non-Fiction 4.8 Stars/6 Reviews (4.8 Stars/38 Reviews on Amazon): http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/bobblehead-dad-jim-higley/1102181445?ean=9781608322046

Religious Fiction/Romance (Contemporary) 5.0 Stars/2 Reviews (4.7 Stars/46 Reviews on Amazon): http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/greater-than-rubies-a-novella-hallee-bridgeman/1114302511?ean=294004...

Romance 4.0 Stars/2 Reviews (4.4 Stars/81 Reviews on Amazon) http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/heir-untamed-danielle-bourdon/1114054991?ean=2940044418615

Biography 3.8 Stars/9 Reviews (Most BN reviews do not provide any real detail. Plus, this book has 4.8 Stars/47 Reviews on Amazon so I think it's worth a try): http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/seasons-on-henrys-farm-terra-brockman/1100096515?ean=9781572846562

Happy reading! :smileyhappy:

Lorie @ www.eReaderPerks.com (Free Nook Books in 19 Genres)

by spec on ‎04-19-2013 07:35 AM
Here's additional freebies, a.k.a Free Friday's Extras, that many good people found and shared since last Friday. As usual all the books were free at the time of submitting this post, please verify the price before clicking Buy.

Fiction
The Queen's Guard: Violet: Book One in the Queen's Guard Series by Traci E Hall

Horror
The Graveyard Speaks by Hunter Shea

Religion & Spirituality
The Jesus Experiment: What Happens When You Follow in His Footsteps? by Bill Perkins
Christianish: What If We're Not Really Following Jesus at All? by Mark Steele
Answers to Pastors' FAQs by Howard F. Sugden, Warren W. Wiersbe

Cooking, Food & Wine
The Best of Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone by Deborah: Various Contributors Madison

Medicine
Brains: How They Seem to Work by Dale Purves

Romance
Married By Midnight by Julianne MacLean

Children's eBooks
I Can Read!: 100 Tips for Beginning Readers (PagePerfect NOOK Book) by Various, Various (Illustrator)

Health, Mind & Body
Motiv8n' U by Staci Boyer

Science Fiction & Fantasy
After the Battle on Starship Hill: Prologue to The Children of the Sky by Vernor Vinge
In the Dark by PG Forte
Chasers (Alone Series #1) by James Phelan

Business & Investing
Deal with Your Debt: Free Yourself from What You Owe, Updated and Revised by Liz Weston
The Truth About Managing People by Stephen P. Robbins
Investing with Volume Analysis: Identify, Follow, and Profit from Trends by Buff Pelz Dormeier
Richard Templar's Rules: The Complete Compilation (Collection) by Richard Templar

 

Please laurel this post if the list is useful to you.

by butterflly13 on ‎04-19-2013 07:45 AM

I love a action filled mystery so this sounds like fun, thank you Jermey.

 

I also was so suprised when I got home Friday night from work to discovering that I had 20+ new followers on pintrest! Thank You ladies!! Looking forward to exploring your pins as well!

by booklover1980 on ‎04-19-2013 07:50 AM

When I first heard about the nook I was very skeptical about replacing my soft covers.But then my fiance got me a nook for my birthday and I have been hooked since.First I was just the popular authors and now I read anything because my fiance suggest I read something new because I was very bored..So I have been hooked to free Fridays and looking for free books..Better then a library..Plus I do buy books here now and love them to pieces..Thank you for the free Fridays...Love the book this week and it will be read in my future list...

by Eros-Ashima on ‎04-19-2013 08:01 AM

I loved the DaVinci Code and hope this is a similar genre. Thanks to B&N for their wonderful Nook Color and generous free books and thanks to all who make this the place to visit on Friday. In an uncertain world I am always sure to find something good here.

by Yelle617 on ‎04-19-2013 08:02 AM

I love free Friday what a great way to expand your comfort zone on reading, and who can pass up a free book lol, not me!!

by PH03N1X on ‎04-19-2013 08:04 AM

I always look forward to free Friday's :smileyhappy: I have read some of the most interesting books since I was given my nook. I am so glad that my hubby knows me better than I do. I don't think I would've tried it had he not bought it for me. Thank you guys for posting the books! I hope everyone has a terrific weekend!

by spec on ‎04-19-2013 08:15 AM

Both the book and the app are awesome Free Friday selections. My nook tablet is filled with educational games for my kids. But in addition I went to amazon and reported a lower price there via their "tell us about a lower price" link. The reason being amazon appstore is available for all android devices, unlike nook store. So for all other that care about that i would suggest doing the same, perhaps the more people report the better chances of them lowering the price as well.

 

And thank you to my "competition" for their freebies :smileyhappy:

by moose_tracker on ‎04-19-2013 08:52 AM

At first when I saw the title, I thought it wouldn't interest me.. But compare it to Dan Brown & Preston & Child  (Some of my favorite authors) and you had me hook, line and sinker..   Thanks..

by BethAnnCullen on ‎04-19-2013 08:55 AM

Thank You!!! :cathappy:

by Mitch563 on ‎04-19-2013 09:00 AM

Oh my goodness...I have 4 new books now and no money spent.  Excellent Free Friday.  Very exciting!!!

by duke50 on ‎04-19-2013 09:20 AM

Absolutely love FREE FRIDAYS especially all the great additions posted by all!!  Thanks so much, greatly needed today in mist of craziness going on too close to home here in MA!!

 

by bmk129 on ‎04-19-2013 09:20 AM

Love the selections posted today for Free Fridays!  Thanks B&N and all others who posted today.

by Reincarnation on ‎04-19-2013 09:20 AM

The Seasons on Henry's Farm by Brockman & Madison is NOT free. Sounds like a trmendous read, too bad.