Fans of Dan Brown and Preston & Child will love Jeffrey Small's award-winning debut novel, with its unique blend of suspense, spirituality, and ancient history. Graduate student Grant Matthews journeys to the Himalayas in search of an ancient mystery hidden in a remote monastery, but at every step of his quest he confronts a conspiracy of zealots who will go to any lengths to protect the secret: a secret that could change Grant's life, if he survives.

 

Joining Grant on his quest is photojournalist Kristin Misaki and together they must confront an assassin at the Taj Mahal, a kidnapping in a sacred city, and a desperate chase through a cliffside monastery—all in the pursuit of a legend that could link together the great religious faiths of the world.

 

If you enjoy fast-paced thrillers that explore ancient cultures, you won’t want to miss The Breath of God, or Small’s newest book, The Jericho Deception—available now for preorder.

 


 

 

 

In my experience, kids just can’t resist the adorable cartoon adventurer Dora the Explorer. I can’t blame them—she’s cute as a button and an enviable problem solver. With  today’s irresistible free app, early readers learn important lessons about letter recognition and phonics, through a series of engaging activities. You’ll love watching your pint-sized reader tracing letters in the sky, as Dora’s friend Tico draws pictures and letters with his plane. Each activity reinforces different skills, keeping even the most energetic toddler engaged. 

 

To keep them engaged even after they’ve mastered these new skills, explore the full range of Nickelodeon apps on NOOK here.

 


 

 Free Fridays Recommends

 

Each week, we ask our featured author to recommend a book or author that you may want to check out. Since authors are such passionate readers themselves, we thought you might like to find out what they love to read, too! Here’s what Jeffrey recommends:

 

Comments
by mikesmartha on ‎04-19-2013 09:23 AM

Thanks to all our wonderful posters. Fridays just isn't the same when I miss FF. Have a great weekend!

by PeecWithin ‎04-19-2013 09:29 AM - edited ‎04-19-2013 09:33 AM

Thanks to everyone who takes the time to search out these freebies every week!

by KarliL on ‎04-19-2013 09:32 AM

Thank you to all who share! Looking forward to some interesting reading.

by connie97206 on ‎04-19-2013 09:48 AM

why do you post books that cost money?glad i look befote i download. one book cost $12 dollars. confused why barnes and noble does this.

:smileymad:

by TracyeD on ‎04-19-2013 09:55 AM

Great selection of free reads this week! Now, which book do I begin first????  Thanks to everyone who helps to compile the list and allows us to indulge in our reading passion

Spoiler
 
by Moderator dhaupt on ‎04-19-2013 10:19 AM

Oh thank you Jeremy and Nook, this is very cool it's been on my wish list and now it's mine he he he

 

Everyone have a great weekend!!!

by 1LadyVi on ‎04-19-2013 10:20 AM

Thank you.

by TarHeelGirl00 on ‎04-19-2013 10:42 AM

Sounds like another great book this week!  Thanks B&N for Free Fridays--it's a great start to my weekend each week!

 

Happy reading everyone!:smileyhappy:

by SQUASHKITTY on ‎04-19-2013 10:47 AM

Thanks to everyone who searches out these free books every week. Your time and effort are greatly appreciated. As someone above said the weekend is not the same with out free Friday.

by Carlissa on ‎04-19-2013 10:49 AM

Thanks, Jeremy and everyone else, for the wonderful freebies!  Here's a few more:

 

 

Oracle's Legacy: Children of the Sun (Book One)
Call of the Herald
Spinward Fringe Broadcast
Classmate Murders
by DarlynneV on ‎04-19-2013 10:53 AM

Sounds like a good story. Thank you so much.

by jeg73160 on ‎04-19-2013 11:08 AM

connie97206, the B&N free friday book is free the rest are ones that others compile during the week that they find so sometimes it is no longer free.  ALWAYS check before downloading a book.  Also check out Book Bub dot com for other free and low cost books delivered to your email daily.  :-)

by ponkle on ‎04-19-2013 11:17 AM

I really like the sound of todays book. Thank you BN and all who post books. I'm going to enjoy this one.

by Evilynn on ‎04-19-2013 11:19 AM

Thank you, everyone for the time you take to share the books you've found. You are very much appreciated. Have a great weekend!

by judy9569 on ‎04-19-2013 11:37 AM

Thank you BN for Free Fridays and thank you all for the work you do to bring more free books.