“…the killing would go on and on, the red thirst would flow down the centuries unquenched,

the fever dreams would turn to sickness and to rot…”

Fevre Dream by George R. R. Martin

 

 

After the phenomenal success of HBO’s Emmy and Golden Globe winning series Game of Thrones, George R. R. Martin has become a household name, a bearded pop culture icon with suspenders. His A Song of Ice and Fire novels (A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, et. al.) are all back on national bestseller lists and some of his earlier work is being unearthed and reissued to a whole new audience of readers – like Fevre Dream, a bloody little vampire fiction gem that has been included on countless “best vampire novels of all time” lists.

 

 

Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will find this novel to be archetypal GRRM – powered by incredibly deep and insightful character development, a richly and meticulously described setting, and a storyline that is impressively intricate.

 

Abner Marsh is a larger-than-life riverboat captain – “a massive man, six foot tall and three hundred pounds heavy. He had a red face and a full black beard that he wore to cover up a flat, pushed-in nose and a faceful of warts, but even the whiskers didn’t help much; they called him the ugliest man on the river…” After losing most of his boats in icy winter mishaps, the brash Marsh is struggling mightily. But when a strange man with pale skin and gray eyes named Joshua York not only offers him an unbelievable amount of money to co-captain a brand new state-of-the-art steamboat with him but the boat itself, Marsh agrees to the strange offer: and gets himself entangled in York’s secret mission, which is either heroic or insane – or both.

 

Fevre Dream brilliantly showcases GRRM writing skills. While most writers may use a few adjectives – or at most, a few sentences – to describe York’s eyes, GRRM uses the opportunity to not only begin to delve into York’s character but to also intensify the story’s dark ambiance and to hint at a possible foreshadowing of things to come. And he does so with a furious lyricism:

 

 

 

Bottom line: Fevre Dream is storytelling at its very finest. I dare anyone to not finish this book once they begin reading it – and I also bet that more than a few hardcore A Song of Ice and Fire fans will enjoy this novel just as much if not more than GRRM’s epic fantasy. Take that, Tyrion Lannister...

 

 

Paul Goat Allen has been a full-time book reviewer specializing in genre fiction for the last two decades and has written thousands of reviews for companies like Publishers Weekly, The Chicago Tribune, Kirkus Reviews, and BarnesandNoble.com. He is a member of the National Book Critics Circle. 

 

 Keep up with all of my blogs – as well as all of Barnes & Noble’s exclusive reviews, authors interviews, videos, promotions, and more – by following @BNBuzz on Twitter!

Comments
by LordRuthven on ‎04-22-2012 03:59 PM

"Fevre Dream" is one of my all-time favorite vampire novels. The epilogue is extremely moving. Just an all-around great novel.

by BrandieC on ‎04-23-2012 09:15 AM

Amazingly enough, my public library has a single copy of this book.  Since I'm afraid your glowing assessment will cause a run on the book, I've already reserved it this morning!

by chrisakavern on ‎04-23-2012 02:18 PM

I first found "Fevre Dream" in the ship's Library while on Deployment on the U.S.S. Nimitz, I read it in a day, I simply could not put it down. It remains one of my all time favorite books.

 

The characters are so realistic and you feel absolutely transported to Mark Twain's Steamboat River days. But this time a menacing dark cloud hangs above the Missippi river.

 

Read "Fevre Dream" before the "red thirst" over takes you!!

by on ‎04-26-2012 10:23 AM

Thanks for the review and reminder about Martin's other books. I haven't read this one maybe because I wasn't into the vampire books at that time. But it will go in my list.

About Unabashedly Bookish: The BN Community Blog
Unabashedly Bookish features new articles every day from the Book Clubs staff, guest authors, and friends on hot topics in the world of books, language, writing, and publishing. From trends in the publishing business to updates on genre fiction fan communities, from fun lessons on grammar to reflections on literature in our personal lives, this blog is the best source for your daily dose of all things bookish.

Advertisement

Since 1997, you’ve been coming to BarnesandNoble.com to discuss everything from Stephen King to writing to Harry Potter. You’ve made our site more than a place to discover your next book: you’ve made it a community. But like all things internet, BN.com is growing and changing. We've said goodbye to our community message boards—but that doesn’t mean we won’t still be a place for adventurous readers to connect and discover.

Now, you can explore the most exciting new titles (and remember the classics) at the Barnes & Noble Book Blog. Check out conversations with authors like Jeff VanderMeer and Gary Shteyngart at the B&N Review, and browse write-ups of the best in literary fiction. Come to our Facebook page to weigh in on what it means to be a book nerd. Browse digital deals on the NOOK blog, tweet about books with us,or self-publish your latest novella with NOOK Press. And for those of you looking for support for your NOOK, the NOOK Support Forums will still be here.

We will continue to provide you with books that make you turn pages well past midnight, discover new worlds, and reunite with old friends. And we hope that you’ll continue to tell us how you’re doing, what you’re reading, and what books mean to you.

Categories