1 Reply Latest reply: Apr 19, 2013 11:58 PM by kamas716

    Forced to re-register, and lost data!

      HELP!!  I was forced to reregister my Nook Simple Touch with Glowlight tonight, and all the data I added to my Nook was deleted.

       

      -Bookmarks

      -Notes

      -Highlights

      -Shelves

       

      All are gone - how can I recover this?  WHY was my data erased?

       

      How can I turn updates off - trust me, there is NO WAY anything in that update was worth my loss of data!

        • Re: Forced to re-register, and lost data!
          kamas716

          GLM123 wrote:

          HELP!!  I was forced to reregister my Nook Simple Touch with Glowlight tonight, and all the data I added to my Nook was deleted.

           

          -Bookmarks

          -Notes

          -Highlights

          -Shelves

           

          All are gone - how can I recover this?  WHY was my data erased?

           

          How can I turn updates off - trust me, there is NO WAY anything in that update was worth my loss of data!


          Re-registering erases everything. You can't recover it (to my knowledge), it's just gone, like any other computer file that has been deleted/erased.

           

          The only way you can avoid updates on a truly stock device is to keep wifi off unless downloading books to your library.  I believe some people here would be able to tell you how to do it if rooting or running something like N2A.