14 Replies Latest reply on Oct 17, 2014 9:35 PM by seacitylady

    Deregister

    james_screech

      My HD+ has become very slow over the past few weeks and I'm thinking of deregistering to see if that will fix the problem.

       

      How much data does deregistering actually delete?

      Will it remove all the books I've sideloaded onto my HD+?

      Will it delete the contents of my shelves?

      Will it delete the contents of my SD card?

       

      Thank you

      James

        • Re: Deregister
          keriflur

          Deregistering deletes all the data associated with your account. So yes, all your books and shelves will be gone - you will need to re-download your books (the last 5 purchased will automatically download and the others will have the option to download) and recreate your shelves.

           

          Your SD card won't be affected.

            • Re: Deregister
              Slytheringilr

              That's not entirely true. Your books, if purchased from the nook shop, will still be available to redownload from your archive. The same for any apps. Google play apps can be redownloaded as well under the My Apps option in the Google store app once you've signed in. As for your SD card, you'll have back up whatever is on it because it will not be recognized when you reregister. You'll have to format it again and that will erase the SD card.

                • Re: Deregister
                  keriflur

                  I have never had to re-format an SD card after deregistering and reregistering any of my nooks.

                   

                  That said, ejecting the card before doing the reset would be a good precaution.

                    • Re: Deregister
                      Slytheringilr

                      My HD+ wouldn't read my SD card when I had to reregister it eariler this year so I assumed it was the same for all HD+'s. That's weird.

                        • Re: Deregister
                          Mercury_Glitch

                          keriflur's original comment is correct, ebooks, shelves, etc. on your device will be no more once you deregister.  The ebooks will return, however shelves, sideloaded content, content downloaded via the web browser, etc. will -not- return. 

                           

                          When it comes to the SD card it's always wise to remove it, wiser on the tablet Nooks as they seem to tie more to the SD card than the eink Nooks.  If I had to guess it's due to android and permissions, but my knowledge there is limited.

                          1 of 1 people found this helpful
                        • Re: Deregister
                          DeanGibson

                          keriflur wrote:

                           

                          I have never had to re-format an SD card after deregistering and reregistering any of my nooks.

                           

                          That said, ejecting the card before doing the reset would be a good precaution.

                          I've deregistered and reregistered by Nooks (including Nook HD and HD+ units) without removing my micro SD card, and never had a problem re-accessing the card.

                      • Re: Deregister
                        Sandikal

                        I deregistered my Nook HD a couple of days ago and it deleted the two movies I had downloaded to my SD card.

                          • Re: Deregister
                            keriflur

                            Sandikal wrote:

                             

                            I deregistered my Nook HD a couple of days ago and it deleted the two movies I had downloaded to my SD card.

                            This is why it's a good idea to take the card out before deregistering.

                            • Re: Deregister
                              Mercury_Glitch

                              Sandikal wrote:

                               

                              I deregistered my Nook HD a couple of days ago and it deleted the two movies I had downloaded to my SD card.

                              If the movies were purchased through B&N or through GoPS then this is standard as it's removing content you would not have access to without the device being registered.  They should return when you re-register the HD.  Had the card been removed nothing would have happened, and once the HD was re-registered it should just work as normal.

                          • Re: Deregister
                            seacitylady

                            If you have a lot of sideloaded content or shelves de-registering is a big hassle. Before you do that you might want to download Clean Master (it's free) from Google Play. A lot of times your device will slow down if you have a lot of junk files or of you are running an app that is a big memory hog (Zinio). Clean Master can clean those things up & that might be all you need. I use it daily & you would be surprised how much junk accumulate with only a few hours use.