3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 8, 2015 11:11 PM by petesnook

    color nook reset-lose data?

    molly50

      Hi

      I have a color nook..and want to sell it..If I follow the instructions/steps on the nook itself and "reset back to factory" as it reads..will I lose my Barnes and Noble account?  I still have money in account ..I do have a few books on the nook that I bought, will they be lost also or are they in my Nook account that have on my Galaxy tablet? 

      oh and after the reset how does one then register the nook? or do I let that up to the new buyer?

       

      Thanks

       

      Molly50

        • Re: color nook reset-lose data?
          petesnook

          Molly, you will not lose your B&N account, nor any of the money in your account, nor any of your books or other purchases. Just make sure the instructions you are following include deregistering your device. If you don't deregister it, the next person who owns it won't be able to register it to their account. Just resetting back to factory status does not deregister, at least not on older models.

           

          You say you have a color nook. Off the top of my head I can think of eight Nook models that have a color screen. If you let us know which model you have, perhaps someone can lead you to the specific option in Settings to utilize. The device name and/or model number are found in Settings under a sub-setting called About Device or something similar.

          1 of 1 people found this helpful
            • Re: color nook reset-lose data?
              molly50

              Thanks..here is the model: BNRV200 and serial : 2004820084412005

              appreciate any info on how to deregister...on this model there is a tab

              "erase & deregister device"  if I use that do I do anything else or just

              that?

               

              thanks

              Molly

              1 of 1 people found this helpful
                • Re: color nook reset-lose data?
                  petesnook

                  OK, that model is the first color Nook, commonly referred to as a Nook Color (or NC, for short). If you do the Erase and Deregister, you will be fine. Your stuff will be removed from the NC and the NC will be deregistered so the new owner will be able to register it. If you have  the NC manual, there is some discussion on this on page 75. And your purchased B&N material will still be available for the Nook reading app on your Galaxy tablet.

                   

                  So, go for it!

                  1 of 1 people found this helpful